top of page
Search
Writer's pictureSharonda Jones

Confessions to Self

If anyone asked me in my younger years if I ever talked, to myself I would eagerly and speedily reply “no,” especially when my peers made jokes about how crazy it is for someone to talk to themselves. Was this the truth? Absolutely not. When I became older, I realized and learned that talking to yourself is not so bad after all. At some point in time, each one of us have had to talk to ourselves about somethings. As a matter of fact, it was talking to myself and God that brought me through some of the toughest times in my life. Talking to myself not only helped when I became angry frustrated, or hurt, but presently it has helped me to shape my opinion about who I am in God, who God created me to be and how I see myself. Some may say that it’s “whack” or “unnecessary” or maybe even “corny” but there is something powerful about looking in the mirror and talking to yourself. This included making declarations, decrees and speaking the Word of God over my life.

One additional area I can’t forget, aside from talking to myself to help me through issues, problems, hardships, etc., and that’s talking to myself to confess my weaknesses, my faults and wrong doings. There have been times I’ve had to tell myself “you were wrong about that” or “you could have said that in a much nicer tone” and “you should apologize.” One thing that has helped me throughout this process and that is building a relationship with God and allowing Holy Spirit to have a voice in my life. I found that the more we become Christ-like, and the closer we draw to Him, the more we begin to think like Him, respond like him, and display the fruits of the Spirit. It’s so easy for us to see who we are not, but struggle with accepting and knowing who we are in God. This happens when we silence our voice and allow the enemy’s voice to take precedence above not only God’s voice, but even our own voice.


One last thought: Talking is paired with listening. If we talk to ourselves and tell ourselves we are made in the image of God, we are the head and not the tail, we are above and not beneath, and we do not listen to our own words, the enemy will come right in and sow his lies and everything contrary to the Word of God. We will then find ourselves listening to him instead of listening to ourselves and God. Lastly, I’ve learned that I must believe. (1. Talking 2. Listening 3. Believing). I found that I had to believe what I was speaking and believe what I was confessing. The only way I can experience change and growth is if I believe and have faith in what I speak concerning myself, hear from God and read in His Word. Sharonda E. Jones

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Access Points

There are several ways one can open demonic portals in their life. Portal: a doorway, gate, or other entrance, especially a large and...

Comments


bottom of page